Computer Service / Network Integration / Performance Tuning

Home » Don’t Fall For This LinkedIn Email Scam

Don’t Fall For This LinkedIn Email Scam

Don’t fall for this bogus LinkedIn email scam. The message subject reads: AVIOD SUSPENSION,Please confirm your email address

The first clue should be the misspelling of AVOID.

Beyond that the footer in the message claims to be from LinkedIn Ireland in Dublin. If you are in the United States like I am, any communications from LinkedIn would come from the Mountain View location. Also the links you are being asked to click on resolve to a bogus page on: perfect-index288 dot com. This is clearly bogus.

Always hover your mouse over any active links and look at the bottom of the window to see the destination for that link.  If it does not look like it belongs to LinkedIn, do not click on it.  Ever.

This particular one goes here  http://perfect-index288.com/linkden/linked.htm

Notice it includes a directory and page name at the end that initially appear to be LinkedIn – but are not.  Linkden and Linked are actually NOT LinkedIn.  Even if they were, the actual domain they are located in is perfect-index288 – which of course has NOTHING to do with LinkedIn.

Do NOT click on anything that asks you to verify your email address unless you just set up your account 30 seconds ago.


Bogus LinkedIn Email

Bogus LinkedIn Email

Name of author

Name: Wizard

Short Bio: The Computer Wizard (TCW). TCW was founded by Warren P. Harris in 1994 to service and repair computers in the San Francisco Bay Area. Relocating the business to Plano, Texas in 1999, TCW continued to flourish when an unfortunate loss of data for a wedding Mr. Harris photographed, caused him to research data recovery options. Realizing he would have to either pay someone to recover the photos or find out how to do it himself, the rest, as they say "is history". Approached by a friend who was a Private Investigator in 2006, Mr. Harris studied for his Investigator's license and began honing his skills in Computer Forensics. The company was renamed DFW Computer Integration in 2015.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.